HISTORY OF RAMAKRISHNA MISSION (H.S.) SCHOOL, SOHRA



RKM HS SCHOOL, SOHRA

On the avenue of time, a century is but a speck of dust, though in mundane existence, it counts for an institution which had been established with the aim of 'man making, character building education' on the line of selfless service to mankind irrespective of caste, creed etc. To materialize the dream of Swami Vivekananda, Swami Prabhananda (Ketaki maharaj) came to this remote part of our mother land India way back in 1924. Braving the inclement weather and insurmountable obstacles, he proved his mettle by establishing Primary schools at Shella (1924) and Nongwar (1928). He took the pains of planting the seed of education that germinated in due course of time and grew to a towering tree

flourishing its branches all across the state of Meghalaya over the years. One such



branch is Rama Krishna Mission Higher Secondary school, Sohra. Under the aegis of Rama Krishna Mission Ashrama, Sohra, this institution of repute, which was founded in 1931, has spread its name and fame across the length and breadth of the country. This Higher Secondary school, with 976 students on its roll, is greatly indebted to the people of Shella who accorded a ready reception to Revered Swami Prabhananda on his arrival there in September, 1924.Swami Prabhananda (Ketaki maharaj) established a Primary School at Maraikaphon, Sohra in 1931 wherefrom it was shifted to its present site at Khliehshnong, Sohra in 1933.The school was formally recognized by the Director of Education in 1938. The first batch of students appeared for Matriculation Examination conducted by the University of Calcutta in 1939, when, it happened to be the



Second-High School in the entire Khasi Hills next only to Shillong. Since its very inception, the school has been relentlessly playing a vital role in shaping the tender minds of the students. By the grace of God and through the

untiring effort, unabated enthusiasm of the dedicated monks, the devoted teachers and staff, the constant patronage of the state as well as the central government, well-wishers, the institution has been marching forward providing quality and affordable education for long 93 years of its eventful existence.

LIST OF SECRETARIES OF RAMAKRISHNA MISSION ASHRAMA, SOHRA

- (i) Swami Bhuteshananda (1936-1945)
- (ii) Swami Shuddhabodhananda (1945-1965)
- (iii) Swami Niramayananda (1965-1968)
- (iv) Swami Pramathananda (1968-1969)

- (v) Swami Gokulananda (1969-1982)
- (vi) Swami Shantarupananda (1982-1985)
- (vii) Swami Sumedhananda (1985-1991)
- (viii) Swami Ishtananda (1991-1997)
- (ix) Swami Vishwanathananda (1997-2000)
- (x) Swami Divyarupananda (2000-2001)
- (xi) Swami Nityamuktananda (2001-2003)
- (xii) Swami Devamayananda (2003-2006)
- (xiii) Swami Sumedhananda (2006-2009)
- (xiv) Swami Sumanasananda (2009-2015)
- (xv) Swami Anuragananda (2015- till date)

ROLL OF HONOUR

Roll of Honour: SSLC State Rank Holders of the School

Year	Position	Name
1980	2 nd (Tribal)	Onietto Riang
1700	6 th (Tribal)	Jump William Lyngskor
1982	2 nd (Tribal)	Sri Binimoy Chakma
1702	9 th (Tribal)	Sri Wedarson Wanrieh
1983	1st (Tribal)	Sri Robert Stone Tariang
1700	2nd (Tribal)	Sri Synran Singh Kharmih
1984	10 th (Tribal) – Mar	Smt Adela E. Laitphlang

	2 nd (Tribal)- Nov	Sri Johnbert Stone
	5 th (Tribal)- Nov	Sri Wallambor
	10 th (Tribal)- Nov	Sri Lamphrang
1985	1 st (Gen)	Sri Avijit Das Gupta
1705	5 th (Tribal)	Smt Sandra Irene Tariang
1986	4 th (Tribal)	Sri Paulbertstone Tariang
1988	1 st (Gen)	Sri Swapan Sinha
1700	5 th (Tribal)	Sri Marplie Phar
1990	10 th	Smt Catherine Swett
1991	5 th (General)	Sri Collector Khonglam
1992	1 st (Tribal)	Sri Klonderful Kharumnuid
	1 st (Tribal)	Sri Banlam Kupar Lyngdoh
1994	4 th (Tribal)	Sri Abutt Nelson Tangkhar
	10 th (Tribal)	Sri R. Fortis Lyngdoh Tangkhar
1995	6 th	Sri Kynsai Kharlukhi
1775	10th	Sri Lumborlang Mawsor
1998	2 nd	Sri S. S. Bankitbok Sunn
1770	6th	Sri Nazareth Star Ryngnga
2000	1 st (Tribal)	Sri Marshall Warlarpih
2000	3 rd (Tribal)	Smt Pynshleimon Kshiar
2001	7 th (Tribal)	Sri ET Febvonesland Diengdoh
2002	7 th (Tribal)	Sri Mariabiang Kuparlang Diengdoh
-	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

	9 th (Tribal)	Sri Mebanriiaki Nongrum
	10 th (Tribal)	Sri Kitkurlang Sawian
2008	8 th (Gen)	Smt Baridashisha Shullai
2009	7 th (Tribal)	Sri Melateiskhem Giri
	13 th (General)	Sri Hamekisan Nongkynrih
2013	18 th (General)	Smt Aphilarisa Diengdoh
	19 th (General)	Sri Bivan Plielad Chyne
2014	1 st (General)	Sri Saurav Pathak
2017	1 st (General)	Sri Lamphrang Lyngdoh
2018	20 th (General)	Smt Lapdiangkmenlang Khongsit
2020	9th	Sri Kushal Bagchi
2020	12th	Sri Ribait Phawa

Roll of Honor: HSSLC State Rank Holders of the School

Year	Position	Stream	Name
1995	1st	Science	Sri Sumar Melvin Chyne
1995	2nd	Science	Smt Sherilin Buhphang
1995	4th	Science	Smt Ramellind Kynta
1995	5th	Science	Sri Isslowell Khongsit
1996	10th	Arts	Smt Elveryne Thangkhiew
2001	4th	Arts	Sri Rishanwell Sohkhlet

2005	9th	Science	Sri Ramesh Kr. Singh
2008	7th	Arts	Smt Karalin Kharwanlang
2011	6th	Science	Sri Baksanylla Khongwir
2016	2nd	Science	Sri Saurav Pathak
2016	10th	Arts	Smt. Adelamanbha Giri
2018	4th	Arts	Smt Ardabiangki Rymbai
2020	4th	Arts	Sri Gideon Lyngdoh
2020	5th	Arts	Sri Bansiewdor Dohling
2022	4th	Science	Sri Nazariolan Synrem
2022	6th	Science	Smt. Balarihun Kharlukhi
2023	6th	Science	Sri Rahul Das


